Mt. Lebanon is a banner community

Mt. Lebanon was one of 31 Allegheny County towns selected as 2014 Banner Community by the Allegheny League of Municipalities (ALOM). Founded in 1963, ALOM is a nonprofit organization of municipalities in Western Pennsylvania that helps coordinate the needs of local government officials.

ALOM recognizes Banner Communities as those that implement best practices in all aspects of their operations and govern in an inclusive, collaborative manner. These communities must meet several criteria, including: participating in professional education or training programs through ALOM, the Local Government Academy or the Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development, or participating in a governing mentoring program; being active members of ALOM and the county municipal associations, and having a representative attend at least half the meetings; being active members of a local Council of Governments and participating in a cooperative purchasing program and at least one shared municipal service; communicating with the community through a print- or web-based public information vehicle.

Banner Communities also must: participate in a school class discussion on local government or conduct a shadowing program for junior or senior high school students; promote and implement long- term sustainable governing practices by earning certification through Sustainable Pittsburgh; manage employee pensions at funding levels of 90 percent or above; participate in the annual ALOM Wage and Salary Survey Program, and implement goals of an up-to-date municipal comprehensive plan.

“These 31 communities have set a standard of how government should function and have proven themselves as models through their commitment to effective and efficient government principals, which are also accountable to the residents,” said County Executive Rich Fitzgerald, ALOM board chair.
Mt. Lebanon is among the new Banner Communities for 2014, which also include Baldwin Borough, Bethel Park, Castle Shannon, East McKeesport, Heidelberg, Millvale, O’Hara, Pine, Port Vue, Scott, Sharpsburg, and South Park. The 2014 re-designated Banner Communities are Collier, Etna, Hampton, Indiana Township, Leetsdale, McCandless, Moon, North Fayette, Ohio Township, Reserve, Richland, Ross, Sewickley, Tarentum, Upper St. Clair, Whitehall, Wilkins and Cranberry.

“The success of this region begins with the work of our local governments,” said Richard Hadley, ALOM executive director. “The dedication and professional services these communities have displayed improves the quality of life for their residents and visitors.

Hadley said ALOM was pleased with the positive reponse to this year’s new sustainable practices requirement: “Our municipalities continue to impress and lead by example.”