here & now

The Mt. Lebanon Junior Women’s Club raised money for Strong Women, Strong Girls Pittsburgh at this year’s gala. From left: Kelsey Waros and Laura Pollanen of Strong Women, Strong Girls; Robin Gieseke, Junior Womens Club; Sabrina Saunders Mosby, Strong Women, Strong Girls; Jamie McCaw and Tess Carter, Junior Women’s Club; and Raenelle Lowery, Strong Women, Strong Girls.

The Mt. Lebanon Junior Women’s Club  annual benefit gala, “Reach for the Stars” raised money for Strong Women, Strong Girls Pittsburgh. Strong Women, Strong Girls  is a nonprofit that empowers girls to imagine a broader future through a curriculum grounded on female role models delivered by college women mentors, who are themselves mentored by professional women.


Mt. Lebanon High School was well represented at the Pennsylvania Music Educators (PMEA) All-State Festival this spring in Erie. Selected after highly competitive auditions at PMEA district and region festivals for the PMEA All-State Orchestra, Band, Choir, and Wind Ensemble were Alexis Schulte-Albert, string bass; Reed Ulery, French horn; Zhen Yu Ding, tenor; Juliana Slater, trombone; Allen Fry, euphonium; and Charles Broussard, flute.

Dr. Dena Haritos Tsamitis

Ella Drive resident Dr. Dena Haritos Tsamitis received Carnegie Mellon University’s newly established Barbara Lazarus Professorship in Information Networking. Tsamitis, the director of the Information Networking Institute (INI) and founder of Women@INI at CMU, was recognized with the award because of her work fostering diversity and inclusion at the INI.


Lakemont Drive resident Stacy Innerst received a Golden Kite award from the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators for his work on The Music in George’s Head, a book about 20th century composer George Gershwin. Innerst has illustrated eight children’s books ranging in subject from Thomas Jefferson to the Beatles to worms. His most recent work is Ruth Bader Ginsburg: The Case of R.B.G. vs Inequality.


Six Seton La Salle students were among 483 students in grades 4 to 12 nationwide who received $1,000 scholarships from the Carson Scholars Fund. Applicants are nominated by their school based on academic achievement and community involvement. Senior Mackenzie Oravec was recognized with an additional $1,000 scholarship for being a six-time honoree. Other scholarship winners are freshman Zachary Esch; freshman Alexis Riske; junior Cassidy Trautman; junior Carmen Wilson; and junior Allison Williams.