ones to watch

The boy who wouldn’t grow up. We all know a few of those. Mt. Lebanon High School honors the spirit of perpetual puerility with a presentation of Peter Pan, May 5-7 in the high school auditorium. Shows begin at 7:30 p.m., with a 2 p.m. matinee on May 7. Tickets are $12 for adults and $8 for students, available online or at the box office, at main entrance on Horsman Drive, weekdays from 7:30 to 9 a.m, and from 2:45 to 4 p.m. From left: Joel Wilshire, Blair Nelson, Tori Touscany, Bryce Eckenrode, Mariel Chaney,  RJ Tabachnick, and Diego Lasner.

Mt. Lebanon High School senior, Sadie Saxton.
Mt. Lebanon High School senior, Sadie Saxton.

Friends of Mt. Lebanon Library has awarded its $1,000 scholarship to Sadie Saxton. The Friends presents a scholarship annually to a Mt. Lebanon High School senior who has volunteered 55 hours or more at the library. Saxton has volunteered more than 110 hours since 2013. In addition to volunteering, Saxton works at Fleet Feet and is a member of the cross country and track teams. She will attend Bowdoin College in the fall.


Seton-LaSalle senior Joe Farnan will be attending the U.S. Naval Academy this fall, which was his first choice over the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Farnan is the first Seton-LaSalle student to be accepted to both military academies. Candidates are assessed according to their academic, athletic and leadership achievements. The process for obtaining an appointment takes almost a full year, and a successful applicant must be nominated by a member of Congress. Each congressman has only one nomination per academy per year.


MLJWC_gala_Maggie, Justin, Sara

The Mt. Lebanon Junior Women’s Club annual benefit gala, “Spectacular! Spectacular!” raised money for The Education Partnership, which will be used to purchase homework kits for children in local schools. Club members will assemble the kits. The Junior Women’s Club will present the partnership with the funds at its May meeting. From left: Maggie Poole, benefit chair; executive director of the Education Partnership, Justin Brown; Sara Brett, benefit chair.